Be an Artist. Don’t Become One.

Being an artist is an instant thing. It is not prepared nor waited. It is intrinsic. You may think that to be an artist is a long process of interminable endeavors. Some people believe that they can never become an artist when they are too busy with the constant pattern of life–work, school, duties, responsibilities. Some even think that they want to quit their jobs or end school to pursue their so-called “calling” as an artist.

You can be the best artist you can be in any situation. It will be about how you respond to every circumstance you come across in the daily events of life.

Art is flexible in its entire nature. It is described as “the expression or application of human creative skill and imagination, producing works to be appreciated primarily for their beauty or emotional power.” It’s not legalistic.

Remember that “being” and “becoming” are two different words. “Being” is a given thing while “becoming” is something that is earned or strived.

Here’s the point of the matter: “Artists are not forged. They are born.”

3 thoughts on “Be an Artist. Don’t Become One.

  1. Thank you! I totally agree with you.
    Art is the ability of expressing one’s being, one’s sensitivity and perceptiveness of the immortal surroundings and beyond. I believe artists are born with that special gift and are very aware, sensitive and are more emotional & passssionate people. Their feelings are expressed through their art; a gift which unlike most professions are not learnt through the normal channels which most proffessions are acquired through. It is not
    easy nor simple except maybe for those who declare it as such but could not even begin to try even if they tried!!
    I apologize, communication and expression of my thoughts is not an art that I among gifted with 😉

  2. I simply want to say that I could not be in more total agreement with the above writer.
    Thank you for helping me explain to my daughter about the same discussion which started this morning.
    I unfortunately do not have the gift of expressing or communicating with words of my own!
    English is also not my first language.
    My apologies for any spelling errors I make.
    They do land me in quite a bit of trouble …too often.

    Thank you.

  3. Thank you very much Audrey for your thoughts. I appreciate them a lot. Art is not art when not expressed. ‘Nuff said. Have a good day ahead! 🙂

What do you think?

