The Prayer of Jabez

It was just yesterday when I joined one of my leaders’ small group at a coffee shop.

As the circle exchanged their thoughts and practically their lives with each other, our life group leader ended up with a challenge. Well, it was more of a discipline. I guess. Whenever we do something straight for about 21 days, doing that thing will snap into a habit that will soon become part of our lifestyle. His challenge was this:

Pray the prayer of Jabez for six to eight weeks and list down the daily aspirations–needs and wants–in a green handy dandy notebook.

My response was like, “Bring it on!” I am more excited doing this along with friends. I already read about the Prayer of Jabez by Dr. Bruce H. Wilkinson when I was still in college. I practiced it for a season and I believe what I have right now is the result of that simple prayer. It somehow guided me and paved the way for blessings to come into my life.

This prayer has four key prayers. First is to bless me indeed. Second, to enlarge my territory. Third, to let God’s hand be with me. Fourth, to keep me from evil.

I believe that God will definitely work in our lives for the next few weeks. I’ll be posting the fruits of the prayer along the way and I also take this time to shoot this also as your challenge. Try it. It won’t hurt. It never will. In fact, you will just be surprised with what will happen. I tell you this, God is a God of surprises.

As your first step, read into this verse and start praying it. God bless you… indeed.

“And Jabez called on the God of Israel saying, “Oh, that You would bless me indeed, and enlarge my territory, that Your hand would be with me, and that You would keep me from evil, that I may not cause pain!” So God granted him what he requested.”

1 Chronicles 4:10

What do you think?

