NBA: Where Amazing Happens

When I was in high school, basketball was my sport. Yes. It was, until such time I realized that my parents aren’t too tall and I guess I’m better off with other sports–like badminton, table tennis, and ultimate frisbee. I’m not underestimating myself. And it’s never about self-pity. It’s just a simple realization of my strengths.

Anyway, it still didn’t hold me back from appreciating the NBA. Yes, I am an NBA fan.

The Basketball Association of America was founded in 1946 by owners of the major ice hockey arenas in the Northeastern and Midwestern United States and Canada. On November 1, 1946, in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, the Toronto Huskies hosted the New York Knickerbockers at Maple Leaf Gardens, which the NBA now regards as the first game played in the league’s history. (Click here for the history of NBA)

It so amuses me every time I watch a player smash a dunk or strikes a three-pointer. Unlike any other sport, it sends butterflies in my stomach. Overtime! Especially in overtime games. And the playoffs which leads to the championship!

As for my favorite NBA team–well, teams: Boston Celtics, Dallas Mavericks, and recently, New York Knicks. I usually spot my favorite team when my favorite player is there. Rajon Rondo, Dirk Nowitzki, Jeremy Lin.

One thought on “NBA: Where Amazing Happens

What do you think?

