Pop it like it’s hot

Asia Pop Comicon Manila 2015 by Dust Gaudan

AsiaPOP Comicon Manila 2015 is, to date, the hottest and biggest thing that happened to Filipino comic book geeks and enthusiasts in the country. Thanks to Al Ahli Holding Group who chose the Philippines to deploy the regional comic and pop culture convention to jumpstart its business in the country and its biggest investment in Asia. (Source)

One of my friends shared this intel with me a few days ago. Wait, I think it was just yesterday. When I saw the key visual, I was under the impression that it was all-things animé, and thought that it might not be my kind of crowd. (Don’t get me wrong. I enjoy watching animé as I’m a fan of Hunter x Hunter, Ghost Fighter and Slamdunk, to name a few.) But when I checked the event’s social media yesterday (which is already the second to the last day of the con), I was like: “What? Roy Harper is here?” So without any further waffling, I made up my mind to attend the next day, which is today. I tagged my friends along, and unquestionably delighted in the geekiness overload: cosplayers, action figures, comic books, celebrity guests, and a lot more.

Yes, I saw Colton Haynes (Red Arrow/Arsenal) from CW’s Arrow and, the lovely and charming, Nathalie Emmanuel (Missandei) from the famous series, Game of Thrones. Sadly, I wasn’t able to catch Paul Bettany (Vision/JARVIS) from the Avengers.
Here’s to hoping for another awesome comicon next year!

Were you able to attend as well? What was your favorite part?

AsiaPOP Comicon Manila 2015
Admission Fee: P500-P1000
World Trade Center, Metro Manila

What do you think?

